Belfast City Council

Belfast, United Kingdom

Belfast City Council

Belfast City Council (Irish: Comhairle Cathrach Bhéal Feirste) is the local authority with responsibility for part of the city of Belfast, the capital and largest city of Northern Ireland. The Council serves an estimated population of 333,871 (2011), the largest of any district council in Northern Ireland, while being the smallest by area. Belfast City Council is the primary council of the Belfast Metropolitan Area, a grouping of six former district councils with commuter towns and overspill from Belfast, containing a total population of 579,276.

The Council is made up of 60 councillors, elected from ten district electoral areas across the city. It holds its meetings in the historic Belfast City Hall. The current Lord Mayor is Kate Nicholl of the Alliance Party of Northern Ireland.

Accommodations near Belfast City Council

View more options near Belfast City Council0

Nearby Tours & Activities