Bohinj, Slovenia

Travel to Bohinj

Bohinj (Slovene pronunciation: [ˈbɔ̀ːxin]; German: Wochein), or the Bohinj Valley (Slovene: Bohinjska dolina) or Bohinj Basin (Slovene: Bohinjska kotlina), is a 20 km long and 5 km wide basin in the Julian Alps, in the Upper Carniola region of northwestern Slovenia. It is traversed by the Sava Bohinjka river. Its main feature is the periglacial Lake Bohinj (Slovene: Bohinjsko jezero). Bohinj is part of the Municipality of Bohinj, the seat of which is Bohinjska Bistrica.

The basin consists of four geographic units: the Lower Valley (Slovene: Spodnja dolina), Upper Valley (Zgornja dolina), Ukanc Basin or Lake Basin (Ukanška kotlina; Jezerska kotlina), and Nomenj Basin (Nomenjska kotlina). It is bounded by the Komarča head wall on one end and Soteska Canyon at the other. The Lower Bohinj Mountain Range represents its southern border. The Sava River has carved a canyon between the Jelovica and Pokljuka plateaus in the east. To the north, Mount Triglav, Slovenia's highest mountain, is also a part of the municipality.

Accommodations in Bohinj

There are 295 options for staying in Bohinj.
Check out the deals we offer for lodging in Bohinj.

Bohinj Tours & Activities