St. Bridget's Kirk is a ruined church on the outskirts of Dalgety Bay, Fife, Scotland. It is a shell of a medieval church, dating back at least as far as 1178, and was altered in the 17th century for Protestant worship. It has been a ruin since the 19th century.
The church was part of the old village of Dalgety, and the ruins are the only surviving feature of it. It was in existence by at least 11 March 1178 when Pope Alexander III issued a papal bull, calling for the founding of the "Church at Dalgetty with its appurtenances". The church was later appropriated by the nearby Inchcolm Abbey, and in 1244 it was consecrated by David de Bernham, Bishop of St. Andrews.
Joanna King | Apr 15, 2018
Lovely place to stop and look around on a walk. Views are spectacular. Wee hidden gem!
Gary Cook | Mar 5, 2018
St Bridgets Kirk located on the the banks of the Firth of Forth in Fife is a stunning Kirk with views over the Forth itself. The Kirk is open all year round but is unsupervised and there is no parking at the actual Kirk. There are some neighbouring streets nearby which it's only a few minutes walk through Crows Wood. Great for photographers.
Derek Brannan | Mar 19, 2018
Very enjoyable. Lovely to see some old structures still going strong after 100s of years.
Angela Stark | Apr 11, 2018
It is an amazing place especially in the summer it just looks so...happy ☺
Paul Anderson | Dec 10, 2017
Beautiful views and a lovely history, reported Burk and haire and other grave robbers would have robbed here , it's a great place to stop for picnic on coastal path walk :) xxx
Joe Curran | Jun 4, 2018
An amazing historic building. More could be made of it's charms as a visitor attraction.
ellen mcbride | Jun 21, 2018
Beautiful ruin of a very old church with an amazing view across the Forth, including the rail bridge. Well worth a wander.
Wander is a travel search engine that allows you to find the perfect travel destination that fits your budget and preferences.