Jiuzhaigou County, China

Travel to Jiuzhaigou County

Jiuzhaigou County (simplified Chinese: 九寨沟县; traditional Chinese: 九寨溝縣; pinyin: Jiǔzhàigōu Xiàn; Tibetan: གཟི་རྩ་སྡེ་དགུ་རྫོང་།, Wylie: gZi rtsa sde dgu rDzong, ZYPY: Sirza Degu Zong) is a county of Sichuan Province, China. It is under the administration of the Ngawa Tibetan and Qiang Autonomous Prefecture. Formerly called Nanping County (南坪县; Nánpíng Xiàn), it was renamed in 1998 to reflect the fact that the Jiuzhaigou Valley is located within its administration. The county seat, Nanping, was created in 2013 by the merger of Yongle Town (永乐镇), Yongfeng Township (永丰乡), and Anle Township (安乐乡).

The county consists of nine villages in a valley in Sichuan Province. The main ethnic group in the county is Han, with the second being Tibetan. The county seat has an altitude of about 1,400 m (4,600 ft). It has a total area of 2,041 square miles (5,286 km2). As of 2015, the county's total population was 67,519.

Jiuzhaigou County Tours & Activities