Kharkov, Ukraine

Kharkiv (Ukrainian: Харків - "Kharkiv", Russian: Харьков - "Kharkov") is a major city in the Kharkiv region of Ukraine and is the second largest city in Ukraine with a population of over 1.5 million inhabitants. The city is in the northeast of the Ukraine. The site of the city is a hilly plain — more than half of the area of the city is about 100m above sea level. It sits at the confluence of three rivers: the Lopan, the Udy and the Kharkiv. The city has 9 administrative districts.

In 1654 Kharkiv was founded on a hill between the Lopan and Kharkiv Rivers. Ten years later Kharkiv became a separate province. In 1689 the construction of the Holy Shroud Cathedral was finished, this is the oldest stone building that preserved in the city. The Holy Shroud Monastery was founded 30 years later. In 1765 became the centre of the Province of Sloboda Ukraine. In the 1780s the city development plan was conceived by architect P. Yaroslavky. In 1791 the first city theatre was opened. The Kharkiv Emperor's University starting operation 1800s. In 1816 the first magazines in Ukraine were published, the Kharkivsky Democrit, a magazine of satire and humor. In 1869 the first train arrived in Kharkiv, and in July regular traffic started along the Kursk-Kharkiv-Azov Railway. The first water system of the city was laid. The Kharkiv Technological Institute was opened for engineers for industry, mining and construction. At the end of the 1880s the first city state telephone station started. The first electric tram since 1906 worked. In 1917 Soviet power was proclaimed & Kharkiv was the first capital of Ukraine until 1934). In 1924 regular flights on the routes Kharkiv – Kiev and Kharkiv – Odessa were launched. In 1927 built the Metallist Stadium, which became the main sporting arena of the city. In the 1930s the construction of the flagships of Soviet industry, including Tractor Plant, Turbine Plant, and Lathe Contraction Plant was finished.

Kharkov Tours & Activities