Kyoto, Japan



Higashiyama (東山区, Higashiyama-ku, meaning "east mountain") is one of the eleven wards in the city of Kyoto, in Kyoto Prefecture, Japan.

It was created in 1929 when it was split off from Shimogyō-ku. During the years 1931 to 1976 it also covered the area of present-day Yamashina-ku, which was an independent town until its merger into the city in 1931. The name literally means "Eastern Mountain District".

Thumbnail image credited to Additional info

Accommodations near Kiyomizu-zaka

View more options near Kiyomizu-zaka

Nearby Tours & Activities