Langkawi, Malaysia

Travel to Langkawi

Langkawi, officially known by its title Langkawi, the Jewel of Kedah (Malay: Langkawi Permata Kedah), is a duty-free island and an archipelago of 99 islands (plus five small islands visible only at low tide in the Strait of Malacca) located some 30 km off the coast of northwestern Malaysia and a few kilometres south of Ko Tarutao, adjacent to the Thai border. Politically, it is an administrative district of Kedah, with Kuah as its largest town. Pantai Cenang is the island's most popular beach and tourist area.

The name Langkawi is thought to have existed by the early 15th century, although in the 16th century the island of Langkawi was also marked on maps variously as Langa, Langka, Lansura, and Langapura.

Attractions in Langkawi

One place in Langkawi

Accommodations in Langkawi

There are 38 options for staying in Langkawi.
Check out the deals we offer for lodging in Langkawi.

Langkawi Tours & Activities