Anglican Diocese of Southwark

London, United Kingdom

Anglican Diocese of Southwark

The Diocese of Southwark is one of the 42 dioceses of the Church of England, part of the worldwide Anglican Communion. The diocese forms part of the Province of Canterbury in England. It was created on 1 May 1905 from part of the ancient Diocese of Rochester that was served by a Suffragan Bishop of Southwark (1891–1905). Before 1877 the area was part of the Diocese of Winchester.

The diocese covers Greater London south of the River Thames (except for the London Borough of Bexley and London Borough of Bromley) and east Surrey. Since the creation of the diocese's episcopal area scheme in 1991 (which before then had been operating informally for the previous five years), the diocese is divided into three episcopal areas, each of which is overseen by an area bishop and contains two archdeaconries:

Accommodations near Anglican Diocese of Southwark

View more options near Anglican Diocese of Southwark0

Nearby Tours & Activities