Seven Sisters (Moscow)

Moscow, Russia

Seven Sisters (Moscow)

The Seven Sisters (Russian: Сталинские высотки, romanized: Stalinskie Vysotki, lit. 'Stalin's high-rises') are a group of seven skyscrapers in Moscow designed in the Stalinist style. They were built from 1947 to 1953 in an elaborate combination of Russian Baroque and Gothic styles.  At the time of construction, they were the tallest buildings in Europe, and the main building of Moscow State University remained the tallest building in Europe until 1997.

The seven are: Hotel Ukraina, Kotelnicheskaya Embankment Apartments, the Kudrinskaya Square Building, the Hilton Moscow Leningradskaya Hotel, the main building of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the main building of Moscow State University, and the Red Gates Administrative Building. There were two more skyscrapers in the same style planned that were never built: the Zaryadye Administrative Building and the Palace of the Soviets.

Accommodations near Seven Sisters (Moscow)

View more options near Seven Sisters (Moscow)0

Nearby Tours & Activities