New Plymouth, New Zealand

Travel to New Plymouth

New Plymouth (Māori: Ngāmotu) is the major city of the Taranaki region on the west coast of the North Island of New Zealand. It is named after the English city of Plymouth, Devon from where the first English settlers to New Plymouth migrated. The New Plymouth District, which includes New Plymouth City and several smaller towns, is the 10th largest district (out of 67) in New Zealand, and has a population of 87,700 – about two-thirds of the total population of the Taranaki Region and 1.7% of New Zealand's population. This includes New Plymouth City (58,500), Waitara (7,310), Inglewood (3,830), Ōakura (1,720), Ōkato (561) and Urenui (429).

The city itself is a service centre for the region's principal economic activities including intensive pastoral activities (mainly dairy farming) as well as oil, natural gas and petrochemical exploration and production. It is also the region's financial centre as the home of the TSB Bank (formerly the Taranaki Savings Bank), the largest of the remaining non-government New Zealand-owned banks.

Accommodations in New Plymouth

There are 113 options for staying in New Plymouth.
Check out the deals we offer for lodging in New Plymouth.

Weather in New Plymouth

February is the hottest month ☀️, with average temperature of 63° degrees. June is the coldest month ❄️, with average temperature of 48° degrees. July is the wettest month 💧, with 6.3 In. of rain and/or snow.

New Plymouth Tours & Activities