Nonthaburi, Thailand

Travel to Nonthaburi

Nonthaburi (Thai: นนทบุรี, pronounced [nōn.tʰá(ʔ).bū.rīː]) is the principal city of the district and province of the same name in Thailand.

On 15 February 1936, Nonthaburi town municipality (thesaban mueang) was established, which only covered Suan Yai subdistrict (tambon), just 2.5 km2 (0.97 sq mi). On 25 September 1995, Nonthaburi was upgraded to city municipality (thesaban nakhon) by enlargement of the city with four more subdistricts, Talat Khwan (8.2 km2 [3.2 sq mi]), Bang Khen (9.0 km2 [3.5 sq mi]), Bang Kraso (11.2 km2 [4.3 sq mi]) and Tha Sai (8.0 km2 [3.1 sq mi]), covering a total of 38.9 km2 (15.0 sq mi). As of 31 December 2019, it has a registered population of 254,375, making it the most populous city municipality in Thailand (excluding Bangkok). There are 93 communities (chumchon), although not directly chosen by the local citizens, which provides advice and recommendations to local administrative organizations. Due to its proximity to Bangkok, the city is considered a suburb of Bangkok, a part of the Bangkok Metropolitan Region, or Greater Bangkok.

Attractions in Nonthaburi

48 places in Nonthaburi

Accommodations in Nonthaburi

There are 110 options for staying in Nonthaburi.
Check out the deals we offer for lodging in Nonthaburi.

Nonthaburi Tours & Activities