phone 01968 670738
Penicuik House (alternative spellings: Penycuik, Pennycuik) survives as the shell of a formerly grand estate house in Penicuik, Midlothian, Scotland. The 18th-century palladian mansion (at NT2172659208) was built on the site of an earlier house by Sir James Clerk, 3rd Baronet. It was destroyed by fire in 1899 and a major restoration was completed in 2014 by G Brown Stonemasons.
Fascinating to see the work being done restoring the property. Very kind of the owners to let the public roam the grounds for free. Sorry we missed the Burns Picnic day!
Lovely estate good walks worth a visit and its free
Excellent place of historic history, also good for walks with dogs or yourself or in a group.
Fun placed to walk and take on some penicuik history
Penicuik House is a surprisingly well preserved shell of a ruin. The new house, private, is situated in what was the stables. The grounds are slowly beening renovated and the is plenty of interesting walks. There are rangers and a small info centre. There is is also the lost garden which is a developing community garden set in the old walled garden.
Great place to walk with the dogs. Beautifully kept grounds and paths to walk round.
Great for all the photo opportunities with long walk and loads of different hiden places discover. Can tour the inside of the house with ranger. Very kind person. Car park can get busy on weekends.
A real gem of a building, thoughtfully preserved to prevent further deterioration.Set in beautiful open countryside. Lovely walks around the estate and great for exercising the dog, though don't forget to pick up your dog mess and keep this place a clean and pleasant environment for everyone to enjoy.